Looking forward: The future of MAID in Canada

Everything you need to know about Bill C-7, its status in parliament, and how it will impact Canadians’ access to MAID 

In February 2020, the federal government tabled Bill C-7 in response to Truchon v. Attorney General of Canada – a moment which brought hope to suffering Canadians who want access to MAID but have been excluded 

Under Bill C-7, those whose death is not reasonably foreseeable and those who have been assessed and approved for MAID but have lost capacity to consent (Audrey’s Amendment) would be eligible for medical assistance in dying.  

The problem? Parliament was prorogued in August 2020, leaving Canadians to wonder: What will happen to Bill C-7 and the scheduled parliamentary review of medical assistance in dying? How will this impact Canadians’ access to MAID?  

On September 30 at 3:00 PM EST (12:00 PM PST, 1:00 PM CST, 1:00 PM MST, 2:00 PM CST, 4:00 PM AST)James Cowan, Helen Long, and Puneet Luthra from DWDC will guide you through the major changes proposed in Bill C-7, the current status of legislation in parliament, the long-awaited parliamentary review of MAID, and what comes next. You will walk away from this webinar with a thorough understanding of Bill C-7, the legislative review, and the impact that prorogation could have on their ability to proceed without delay.

 

 

Panelists: 

  • James Cowan, Chair, Board of Directors 
  • Helen Long, CEO 
  • Puneet Luthra, Director of Government & Stakeholder Relations 

If you have questions about Bill C-7, the parliamentary review, or the prorogation of parliamentplease email us at events@dyingwithdignity.caThere will be a question and answer period at the end of the webinar – sending your questions ahead of time will help ensure we answer as many as we can. 

NOTE: Before the webinar takes place, you will be sent an email with information on how to log in. We encourage you to listen to the webinar using your computer audio, but there is a toll-free phone option available if needed.  

Can’t attend on September 30? We will post a recording on our website once available.  

WHEN
September 30, 2020 at 3pm - 4pm
CONTACT
Kelsey Goforth ·

Showing 1 reaction

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.