Dementia, MAID, and other end-of-life options

Please join us on Thursday February 25 for an in-depth discussion on end-of-life options for Canadians living with dementia.  

During this webinar, you will learn about: 

  • Access to medical assistance in dying for Canadians living with dementia 
  • The changes proposed in Bill C-7 that will impact access 
  • Dying With Dignity Canada’s advocacy efforts in relation to advance requests 

...and more. 

REGISTER NOW

Speakers 

Dr. Konia Trouton, MD, MPH, FCFP, is a physician based on Vancouver Island. She has been involved in social justice aspects of health care since medical school. Dr. Trouton is a founding member of the Canadian Association of MAID Assessors and Providers and continues to be an active board member, promoting education to MAID in Canada. 

Dr. Justine S. Dembo, MD, FRCPC, is a Lecturer at University of Toronto and psychiatrist at Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, specializing in obsessive-compulsive disorder and anxiety disorders. She has been researching medical assistance in dying (MAID) since 2009, and has conducted capacity assessments for MAID requests in Canada since the Carter ruling came into effect in 2016. She is a member of the Canadian Association of MAID Assessors and Providers, and Joint Centre for Bioethics MAID Community of Practice. 

Puneet Luthra, DWDC's Director of Government and Stakeholder Relations, is a government relations professional with 15 years of experience in the charitable and non-profit sector. He holds a Master's degree in Public Administration and a Bachelor’s degree in Political Science. 

Date and Time: February 25, 2021 

  • 12:00 p.m. PST 
  • 1:00 p.m. MST 
  • 2:00 p.m. CST 
  • 3:00 p.m. EST 
  • 4:00 p.m. AST 
  • 4:30 p.m. NST 

If you can’t attend on February 25, a recording will be posted on our website and emailed to all registrants. However, only those who attend the webinar live on February 25 will have the opportunity to ask questions of our speakers.  

WHEN
February 25, 2021 at 3:00pm - 4:30pm