Board Slate 2019

James Cowan

James Cowan is a veteran lawyer and retired senator from Nova Scotia.

Read more

Dr. Isser Dubinsky

Dr. Isser Dubinsky is an Associate Director of Hay Group Health Care Consulting. Dr. Dubinsky’s academic and consulting focus includes improving the effectiveness and efficiency of healthcare services, health human resource planning, and clinical service redesign.

Read more

Bev Heim-Myers


Currently, Bev is the Chair of the Canadian Coalition for Genetic Fairness and has worked with key stakeholders to see the Genetic Non-Discrimination Act (GNDA) passed into law in 2017, ensuring that the genetic test information of all Canadians is protected.  Bev remains an active member of the Governing Council of the Neurological Health Charities of Canada (NHCC) and serves as a director on the board of Clinical Trials Ontario (CTO).  

Read more

Valerie Hussey

Valerie Hussey is a seasoned professional with more than 35 years of experience in publishing and management. She has worked with non-profit organizations and small businesses in areas of social enterprise creation, strategic planning, board development and review, and fundraising. Valerie has extensive experience working with non-profit boards from creation to renewal stages.

Read more

Eva Kmiecic

Eva’s career has spanned three decades, two continents, and executive positions in both the public and non-profit sectors, including Deputy Commissioner of the RCMP, Vice President of the Public Policy Forum, Assistant Secretary for the Australian Department of Immigration and Ethnic Affairs, Registrar of Canadian Citizenship, and work on various social policy and criminal justice initiatives. Throughout, she has been an active volunteer serving on both national and community organizations, with a primary focus on governance, strategy and public policy.

Read more

Sherry Moran

Sherry is a retired lawyer and federal government executive with extensive experience in developing policy and legislation while working collaboratively with a variety of stakeholders. She has significant experience in developing and strengthening governance frameworks, both in government and through her work on Boards in the non-profit and charitable sector. Sherry is also proficient in advocating for change in government policy, laws and regulations. 

Read more

Leigh Naturkach

Leigh Naturkach is the Director of Philanthropy for Women’s College Hospital Foundation. Leigh is a past board member of other social justice organizations that worked for promoting and supporting reproductive rights, and that served vulnerable and marginalized girls. 

Read more

Dr. Chantal Perrot

Dr. Chantal Perrot, AB, MD, CCFP, FCFP, CGPP, is a family physician and psychotherapist in Toronto. 

She graduated from the University of Toronto in 1985, and completed a family medicine residency at Mount Sinai Hospital, also in Toronto.

Read more

Bradley Peter

Bradley Peter is a freshwater biologist in Edmonton.

Read more

Fancy C. Poitras

Fancy C. Poitras has been a member and volunteer with Dying with Dignity Canada since 2011. In 2016, she started volunteering as a chapter administrator with the Vancouver Chapter.

Fancy has a Masters of Public Policy and a Post-Baccalaureate Diploma in social policy issues from Simon Fraser University, and a Bachelor of Arts in political science from the University of Alberta.

Read more

Dr. Jonathan Reggler

Jonathan Reggler is a family physician in Courtenay, B.C., on Vancouver Island. He studied medicine at the University of Cambridge in the United Kingdom, graduating in 1984 and then spent eight years in the British Army prior to entering general practice in southern England. He emigrated to Canada in 2003.

He combines hospital with office practice. His office practice is deliberately skewed towards the care of seniors and he thus also provides a lot of palliative care.

Read more

Dr. Derryck Smith

Dr. Derryck Smith is a Vancouver-based psychiatrist. He is a past president of the BC Medical Association and a past board member of the Canadian Medical Association.

Dr. Smith is a clinical professor emeritus with the Department of Psychiatry and is active in clinical teaching of medical students and residents. He is a past president of the Medical Legal Society and was chair of the Board for the Greater Vancouver Mental Health Services Society.

Read more

Ryan A. Webster

Ryan A. Webster, CPA, CA, is an experienced finance and healthcare leader with a demonstrated history within Hospital, Long-Term Care, Community Care, Research and Innovation settings.

Read more